Here are some news and notes heading into this weekend’s MotoAmerica season finale at WeatherTech Raceway in the GEICO Motorcycle Superbike Speedfest at Monterey.

WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca Notes…

The winningest AMA Superbike rider of all time at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca? That would be Josh Hayes, the four-time AMA Superbike rider winning six races at the famous facility on the Monterey Peninsula.

Speaking of Hayes, as mentioned earlier Cameron Beaubier has a chance to tie Hayes for the all-time AMA Superbike wins in a season if he were to win all three races this weekend at Laguna. Hayes set the high-water mark in 2012 when he won 16 of 20 races on the year, including a streak in which he won 10 races in a row.

As for active MotoAmerica Superbike riders, Cameron Beaubier leads the way with four Superbike victories; and Toni Elias has three wins at Laguna. No other active MotoAmerica rider has won a Superbike race in Monterey.

The first-ever AMA Superbike race at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca was on August 1, 1975, with Reg Pridmore taking the win on his BMW.

Last year’s two Superbike races at Laguna were won by Toni Elias and Garrett Gerloff. For Gerloff, his win in race two was his first career MotoAmerica Superbike victory.

Gerloff also earned pole position for the two Superbike races in 2019, the Texan lapping the 2.238-mile WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca in 1:23.286 to best his then-teammate Cameron Beaubier by .109 of a second in Superpole.

The MotoAmerica Superbike lap record at Laguna is held by Josh Herrin set in 2018 with his Superpole lap of 1:22.908.

Coming into the Laguna round, Cameron Beaubier has 27 career Superbike pole positions. He leads that category among active MotoAmerica racers. If Beaubier earns pole at Laguna, he will eclipse his single-season pole mark of six (2018) with a seventh pole in 2020.

With his maiden MotoAmerica HONOS Superbike win at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Italian Lorenzo Zanetti became the 60th rider to win an AMA Superbike race.

Twenty-three racers have entered the MotoAmerica Heritage Cup at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca with 21 of the 23 from California. The two non-Californians in the field are from Montana and Wyoming. The oldest bike entered is a 1974 Kawasaki Z1 900.

Bobby Fong beat PJ Jacobsen by 1.6 seconds last year to win the lone Supersport race at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca with Richie Escalante finishing third. The fastest lap of the race was set by Fong with his 1:27.142.

The Twins Cup race last year at Laguna was won by Kaleb De Keyrel by .683 of a second over Michael Barnes with Alex Dumas finishing third.

Rocco Landers beat Dallas Daniels by over nine seconds to win the Liqui Moly Junior Cup race with Kevin Olmedo nipping at Daniels heels in third place last year.

Andrew Lee beat Geoff May to the line by less than a second in the Stock 1000 race in 2019 with Stefano Mesa rounding out the podium in third.

Website | + posts