Mat Mladin (1) won nine Superbike races at Barber in his career; Aaron Yates (20) won the very first AMA Superbike race at Barber in 2003. Photo by Brian J. Nelson

Barber Motorsports Park News and Notes…

Since 2017, Barber Motorsports Park has played host to the MotoAmerica season finale. That won’t be the case this year as COVID-19 forced schedule changes that pushed both the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca rounds to the end of the season. Barber is now the seventh round with Indy and Laguna scheduled for rounds eight and nine, respectively.

Cameron Beaubier won both Superbike races in the Barber season finale last year after battles with his then-teammate Garrett Gerloff. The two wins earned him an improbable fourth Superbike title by just five points over Toni Elias, the Spaniard suffering through third and fourth place finishes when really anything higher would have likely earned him a second MotoAmerica Superbike title. Elias arrived at Barber last year with a 16-point lead over Beaubier.

In addition to winning both races last year, Beaubier also sat on pole with his 1:23.802 lap during Superpole. The best race lap from a year ago was Beaubier’s 1:23.807 in race one while chasing down Gerloff. The Superbike lap record is also owned by Beaubier with his 1:23.514 coming in Superpole in 2018 at Barber.

Watching history: Beaubier’s next MotoAmerica Superbike victory will be the 50th of his AMA Superbike career. Forty-six of those wins have come during the MotoAmerica era with Beaubier winning three AMA Superbike races prior to MotoAmerica taking over the series in 2015.

After the first six rounds of the 2019 MotoAmerica Superbike Series, Beaubier had a total of 207 points. After six rounds and 12 races in 2020, Beaubier has 68 more points with 275. With his 11 wins thus far, the four-time series champion has already won three more races than in any of his other Superbike seasons.

Australian Mat Mladin has won more Superbike races at Barber Motorsports Park than any other racer with nine victories from 2004 to 2009. Josh Hayes is second on the Barber win list with seven Superbike wins – all in a row from 2012 to 2015. Of the active MotoAmerica Superbike racers, Cameron Beaubier and Toni Elias are tied with three wins apiece at Barber. The very first Superbike races held at Barber were in 2003 with Aaron Yates winning race one and Kurtis Roberts taking victory in race two.

Suzuki (21 wins) and Yamaha (11 wins) have won every AMA Superbike race held at Barber Motorsports Park with the exception of two – Roberts’ and Miguel Duhamel’s victory on Hondas in 2003 and 2004.

To purchase tickets for all MotoAmerica events, click HERE

For information on how to watch the MotoAmerica Series, click HERE

For the full 2020 MotoAmerica Series schedule, click HERE